What it Means to Really Need TP

Back on September 10, 2012, I was given augmentin for a cold. Within two weeks I had extreme diarrhea so I called the prescribing doctor and was told to go to the emergency room that I may possibly be in Acute Renal Failure.  I headed down to the ER where I continued to wait for hours.  I will never forget that day, the ER was over-crowded and I was given a gurney in the hallway.  I saw more than I needed to on that day.  No one should ever witness someone dying and being removed from the ER or drunk people abusing the hospital staff.  I am guessing this is one reason they have rooms in the ER.  Hours later I was sent home with another antibiotic but when I opened the bag and read the side effects it stated, “May cause diarrhea.”  There was no way that I was about to take this medication so I called my doctor in the morning to see what she recommended and she asked me to come into the office to have my poop tested.  WHAT??   I have had many urine cultures done in my time but never had my poop tested.  Never did I imagine this would become routine either.

A few days later I received a phone call from the doctors office stating that I had C-Diff.  I have what?

Clostridium difficile (klos-TRID-e-um dif-uh-SEEL), also known as Clostridioides difficile and often referred to as C. difficile or C. diff, is a bacterium that can cause symptoms ranging from diarrhea to life-threatening inflammation of the colon.   

For over a year I suffered from this C-Diff.   I was in the bathroom EVERY SINGLE TIME I ate or drank. I had accidents more times than I can count. I was put on dialysis because I could not have my living donor transplant. I took pills and syrups, I had a pic-line in my arm and was giving myself medication.  I had 2 fecal transplants…Not one, but two!  The one that finally took was on May 28, 2013.  

And so I share this story tonight after being on dialysis for four hours today listening to the news about people hoarding toilet paper.  According to the CDC, The following symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure: Fever, Cough, Shortness of breath.

WHY ARE PEOPLE BINGE-BUYING TOILET PAPER?  How about thermometers? Cough drops? Cough Syrup?  PLEASE, go easy on toilet paper for those out there dealing with diseases that cause diarrhea!!  

Author: StacyNeedsAKidney

I need a kidney in order to live!

One thought on “What it Means to Really Need TP”

  1. Long time supporter, and thought I’d drop a comment.

    Your wordpress site is very sleek – hope you don’t mind me asking what theme you’re using?
    (and don’t mind if I steal it? :P)

    I just launched my site –also built in wordpress like yours– but the theme slows (!) the site down quite a bit.

    In case you have a minute, you can find it by searching for “royal cbd”
    on Google (would appreciate any feedback) – it’s still in the works.

    Keep up the good work– and hope you all take care of yourself during the coronavirus scare!

    Like

Leave a comment